trying again.

Here we go. I tried to go raw vegan a month or two ago. It didn’t work.  This time I’m going vegan for 10 days. Not coke & chips kinda vegan, healthy vegan. Real recipes, delicious food. And some cooking. Face it, I love good food and I love to cook. I also love to be healthy. So come along with me on this journey while exploring new recipes and cooking techniques.

I’ve been vegetarian since before I can remember and cheese has always been my weakness. I’m armed with some new cookbooks to try out now and I’ll be keeping a log. I will try to do 50% raw since I know so many of the nutrients are lost once a food is cooked.

The curried chickpea cakes were really easy to make, though mental note to pickup some dry garbanzos next time I’m at the healthfood market – would be even better  sprouted I bet. And I used the pre-made bread crumbs. Next time I’d make my own in the vitamix.

Day 1 (Thurs)
breakfast – grapes
lunch – salad bar (green, quinoa, grilled tofu)
afternoon snack – 1 slice spouted bread with 1/4 avocado
dinnercurried chickpea  cakes – from a new cookbook: Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Recipes by Kim Barnouin  –> YUM-O, only thing different I might toss in a handful of blackbeans

sprouted bread is a form of bread made from whole grains that have been allowed to sprout, that is germinated.  You can find it at most grocery stores, sometimes in the refrigerated section. Benefits of sprouted bread: When grains, seeds and nuts are germinated, their nutritional content changes and, as they are generally not cooked, they retain their natural plant enzymes.  These enzymes are beneficial for helping the digestion of the seeds and nuts in the digestive tract.  As well as retaining the enzymes, they also retain the nutrients that would otherwise be destroyed by cooking.  Sprouted grains, seeds and nuts also encourage the growth of good bacteria, help to keep the colon clean, and are high in protective antioxidants. –> see this article for more info.

Day 2 (Fri)
breakfast – grapes & an apple-banana
lunch – leftover curried chickpea cakes
snack – vitamix smoothie (whatever fruits & veggies I have on hand)
dinner – vegan mac n cheese (also from SB Ultimate ED Recipes) – she says it’s good, I’m skeptical but will get back to ya….
Sauteed swiss chard
Lemon creme desserts

One response to “trying again.

  1. I love your blog, and will keep reading it, and getting inspiration for healthy eating. the photos are lovely, too.

Leave a Reply

